Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2009

Senate bill S.845 and House bill H.R. 197 are currently being considered to assist Concealed Carry Permit Holders to practice their rights in other states.  Titled “Respecting States Rights and Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2009,” the bills allow for concealed carry permit holders in the currently-allowed 48 states to carry their firearms in the other states that allow it.  Illinois and Wisconsin are the two states that do not allow concealed carry at all.


“National Right-to-Carry Reciprocity Act of 2009 – Amends the federal criminal code to establish a national standard for the carrying of concealed firearms (other than a machinegun or destructive device) by non-residents. Authorizes a person who has a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm in one state and who is not prohibited from carrying a firearm under federal law to carry a concealed firearm in another state in accordance with the restrictions of that state or as specified under this Act.”

Senator John Thune (R-SD) introduced the Senate legislation, and Rep Stearns (R-FL) and Rick Boucher (D-Va.) sponsored the House legislation.  Both bills have numerous co-sponsors, and are moving down the pipeline towards becoming law.  This legislation does not create a federal licensing system, still leaving it in the control of the States where it belongs.  The federal law will force States to recognize each other’s gun license holders, much like States recognize each other’s drivers license holders.

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.